

# CALL FOR DEI IMAGES

14th International Symposium on Fire Safety Science Tsukuba, Japan • October 22 – 27, 2023

The International Association for Fire Safety Science (IAFSS) is delighted to announce a Diversity, Equity, and Inclusivity (DEI) image session at the 14th International Symposium on Fire Safety Science (IAFSS2023) held from October 22-27, 2023 in Tsukuba, Japan. For display at this event, you are invited to submit an image reflecting on the theme of DEI in fire safety science.

# SUBMITTING YOUR IMAGE

Images should be submitted electronically in bmp, gif, jpg, or png format by August 1, 2023. Please make submissions to <u>EasyChair under IAFSS2023</u>. Please keep the image size under 5 Mb.

# IMAGE KEY DATES

- June 1, 2023 Start of submission
- September 1, 2023 End of submission

# IMAGE REQUIREMENTS

- **Images:** Must be original work and non-commercial. The image format should be bmp, gif, jpg, or png with a maximum size of 5 Mb.
- Style: Images must somehow reflect the theme of DEI in fire safety science.
- Display: Submitted images meeting the requirements will be displayed digitally during the symposium using the submitted image file. You will be notified if your image does not meet requirements and resubmissions will be accepted prior to the end of submission date.

follow us on social media



# AWARDS

No awards are being given for this session.

# CONTACTS

If you would like more information on this DEI image session at the 14th IAFSS Symposium please contact Jason Floyd (Email:Jason.floyd@ul.org) or Rosaria Ono (Email:rosaria@usp.br).

# PERMISSIONS

By submitting your image, you agree that all media (images, videos, etc.) submitted to the International Association for Fire Safety Science (IAFSS) Fire Science Image Gallery will be licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. This license lets others use your work noncommercially with attribution. You also hereby grant the IAFSS a non-exclusive right to redistribute and reuse the aforementioned media, which may include posting the image or video on the IAFSS website, newsletter, YouTube channel or other third-party services. IAFSS will need your permission to make your content available to media outlets that would like to provide press coverage for the Association and/or your content. Please note that you will retain copyright to the work, and therefore you may reuse your content without seeking further permission, including within your future publications.

# SYMPOSIUM COMMITTEE

#### **IAFSS Chair:**

• Dr. Brian Meacham, Meacham Associates, USA

# Symposium Planning Co-Chairs:

- Professor N. Liu, University of Science and Technology of China, China
- Professor A. Stec, University of Central Lancashire, UK
- · Professor A. Trouvé, University of Maryland, USA

# **Local Organizing Committee**

- Professor R. Dobashi, The University of Tokyo, Japan
- Professor K. Kuwana, Tokyo University of Science, Japan
- Professor Y. Nakamura, Toyohashi University of Technology, Japan

### **Program Scientific Co-Chairs**

- Professor E. Kuligowski, RMIT University, Australia
- Dr Y. Wang, FM Global, USA

### **Program Communication Co-Chairs**

- Professor G. Boustras, European University of Cyprus, Cyprus
- Professor B. Lattimer, Virginia Tech, USA
- Dr. C. Maluk, Semper, UK

# Technology Committee Co-Chairs

- Professor X. Huang, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
- Professor N. Johansson, Lund University, Sweden
- Professor E. Weckman, University of Waterloo, Canada

#### **Program Proceedings Co-Chairs**

- Professor L. Bisby, University of Edinburgh, UK
- Professor B. Merci, Ghent University, Belgium

# Posters Co-Chairs

- Professor N. Fernandez Anez, Western Norway University of Applied Sciences, Norway
- Professor A. Fuentes, Universidad Técnica Federico Santa María, Chile

### **Images Co-Chairs**

- Professor K. Matsuyama, Tokyo University of Science, Japan
- · Professor P. Reszka, Universidad Adolfo Ibanez, Chile

## Workshop Co-Chairs

- Professor D. Lange, University of Queensland, Australia
- Dr. S. Scott, Sandia National Lab, USA
- Dr. W. Węgrzyński, Building Research Institute, Poland

### Diversity, Equity, and Inclusivity Co-Chairs

- · Mrs. C. Devine, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
- Dr. J. Floyd, UL Fire Safety Research Institute, USA
- Professor R. Ono, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil
- Dr. I. Vermesi, Bureau Veritas, UK

# **Early Career Co-Chairs**

- Dr. B. Forrest, Waterloo University, Canada
- Professor J. Ji, University of Science and Technology of China, China
- Dr. F. Restuccia, Kings College London, UK

#### English Language Mentoring Chair

• Dr C. Wade, Building Research Association, New Zealand

#### **Awards Co-Chairs**

- Dr. T. Hakkarainen, VTT Technical Research Center, Finland
- Professor L. Hu, University of Science and Technology of China, China
- Professor A. Simeoni, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA
- Professor S. Stoliarov, University of Maryland, USA
- Professor T. Tanaka, Kyoto University, Japan
- Dr. H. Yoshioka, Building Research Institute, Japan
- Professor J. Wen, University of Warwick, UK

# SYMPOSIUM COMMITTEE (CTD.)

#### **Program Scientific Committee Members**

- · Professor S. Bourbigot, University of Lille, France
- Professor K. Cashell, Brunel University, UK
- Professor M. Gollner, University of California-Berkeley, USA
- · Professor A. Filkov, University of Melbourne, Australia
- Professor A. Fuentes, Universidad Técnica Federico Santa María, Chile
- Dr. R. Hadden, University of Edinburgh, UK
- · Professor S. Hostikka, Aalto University, Finland
- Professor Y. Hu, University of Science and Technology of China, China
- Professor X. Huang, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
- · Dr. H. Ingason, Research Institute of Sweden, Sweden
- · Professor A. Jeffers, University of Michigan, USA
- Professor J. Ji, University of Science and Technology of China, China
- · Professor E. Kuligowski, RMIT University, Australia
- Professor K. Kuwana, Tokyo University of Science, Japan
- Professor D. Lange, University of Queensland, Australia

- Dr. S. McAllister, USDA Forest Service, USA
- Dr. R. McDermott, National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA
- Professor K. Moinuddin, Victoria University, Australia
- Professor R. Ono, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil
- · Professor P. Reszka, Universidad Adolfo Ibanez, Chile
- Professor P. Reszka, Universidad Adolfo Ibanez, Chile
- Professor T. Rogaume, University of Poitiers, France
- Professor E. Ronchi, Lund University, Sweden
- Professor A. Simeoni, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA
- Professor S. Stoliarov, University of Maryland, USA
- Professor A. Usmani, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
- Dr. Y. Wang, FM Global, USA
- Professor E. Weckman, University of Waterloo, Canada
- Dr. W. Węgrzyński, Building Research Institute, Poland
- · Professor J. Wen, University of Warwick, UK
- Dr. Y. Xin, FM Global, USA
- Dr. D. Zeng, FM Global, USA