TRUSTEES / OFFICERS

Chair
Dr. Brian Meacham, USA, Americas
Honorary Treasurer / Vice-Chair Finance
Prof Margaret McNamee, Sweden, Europe-Middle East-Africa
Honorary Secretary / Vice Chair Education
Prof. Charles Fleischmann, NZ, Asia-Oceania
Vice Chair Governance and Strategic Planning
Prof Elizabeth Weckman, Canada, Americas
Vice Chair Research
Prof Jennifer Wen, UK, Europe-Middle East-Africa
Vice Chair MemberShip Advisory Council and Symposium Planning
Prof Ritsu Dobashi, Japan, Asia-Oceania
Vice Chair MemberServices
Prof Longhua Hu, China, Asia-Oceania
Vice Chair MemberStry, Equity and Inclusion
Dr Jason Floyd, USA, Americas
Immediate Past Chair / Nominating Committee Chair
Prof Parick van Hees, Sweden, Europe-Middle East-Africa



IAFSS is a Registered Charity in England and Wales Registered Charity Number 1202005

To: Members of the International Association for Fire Safety Science (IAFSS)

From: Charles Fleischmann, IAFSS Honorary Secretary

Ref: Nomination of the IAFSS Trustees and Membership Advisory Council

I am pleased to advise you of the nomination for the IAFSS Trustees and Membership Advisory Council (MAC). The Nominees appear below in alphabetical order by region.

Trustees

<u>Americas</u> Jason Floyd, UL Fire Safety Research Institute, USA Albert Simeoni, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA Elizabeth Weckman, University of Waterloo, Canada

Europe, Middle East and Africa Maria de Las Nieves Fernandez Anez, Western Norway University of Applied Sciences, Norway Eric Guillaume, Efectis, France Jennifer Wen, University of Surrey, England

<u>Asia Oceania</u> Tony Abu, University of Canterbury, New Zealand Naian Liu, University of Science and Technology of China, China Yuji Nakamura, Toyohashi University of Technology, Japan

MAC members

<u>Americas</u> Bronwyn Forrest, University of Waterloo, Canada Brian Lattimer, Virginia Tech, USA Sara McAllister, US Department of Agriculture, USA Shuna Ni, University of Maryland, USA Yi Wang, FM Global, USA Felix Wiesner, University of British Columbia, Canada

<u>Europe, Middle East and Africa</u> Natalia Flores-Quiroz, Stellenbosch University, South Africa Rory Hadden, University of Edinburgh, Scotland Thomas Roguame, University of Poitiers, France Enrico Ronchi, Lund University, Sweden Email: <u>secretariat@iafss.org</u> <u>office@IAFSS.org</u>

IAFSS SECRETARIAT

IAFSS Trustees and Membership Advisory Council: • Prof L Bisby, UK • Prof P Boulet, France • Prof W K Chow, Hong Kong, China • Prof R Dobashi, Japan • Dr R Fahy, USA • Prof C Fleischmann, New Zealand • Dr J Floyd, USA • Prof E. Galea, UK • Prof M Gollner, USA • Prof K Harada, Japan • Prof L Hu, China • Prof B Lattimer, USA • Prof N Liu, China • Prof C Maluk, UK • Prof K Matsuyama, Japan • Prof M McNamee, Sweden • Dr B Meacham, USA • Prof B Merci, Belgium • Prof Y Nakamura, Japan • Prof A Trouvé, USA • Prof P van Hees, Sweden • Dr Y Wang, USA • Prof E Weckman, Canada • Prof J Wen, UK

Dave Rush, University of Edinburgh, Scotland Wojciech Węgrzyński, ITB, Poland

<u>Asia Oceania</u> Kazunori Harada, Kyoto University, Japan Xinyan Huang, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong David Lange, University of Queensland, Australia Ken Matsuyama, Tokyo University of Science, Japan Miho Seike, University of Hiroshima, Japan Yu Wang, University of Science and Technology of China, China

As specified in the rules of the IAFSS, the nominating committee was established with the following members representing our three regions, Americas (A), Europe, Middle East, and Africa (E/ME/A) and Asia-Oceania (AO):

Patrick van Hees, Chair Luke Bisby (E/ME/A) Karen Boyce (E/ME/A) Charles Fleischmann (AO) Tuula Hakkarainen (E/ME/A) Yoshioka Hideki (AO) Erica Kuligowski (AO) Brian Meacham (A) Rosaria Ono (A) Sarah Scott (A)

The nominees were chosen following the association's Rules 3 & 4. Further details on the process can be found in the Association Rules at: <u>IAFSS_Rules_20_February_2023-FINAL.pdf</u>.

The nominees will automatically become Trustees and MAC members after 25 July 2023 unless nominations are received under the petition process. If valid petition nominees are received, an election will be held per the IAFSS Rules.

The Rules of the IAFSS allow for nominations for Trustee and MAC members by signed petition of no less than 5% (31/624) of the members in good standing. Anyone wishing to be nominated by petition for either Trustee or MAC member must follow the procedure below:

- 1) Provide an email to Honorary Secretary at <u>secretariat@iafss.org</u> that clearly states the name of the nominee and office, along with a list of the names and email addresses of the IAFSS members in good standing that support their nomination by petition. This must be submitted to the Honorary Secretary by 5:00PM (EST) 21 July 2023. Any nomination that does not meet the deadline or provide the names and email addresses of the supporting IAFSS members in good standing will be rejected.
- 2) The Honorary Secretary will then email the petition supporters to verify their agreement. Supports will have 2 business days to confirm via email their support of the petition.
- 3) The nominee will then be notified regarding the acceptance of their petition.
- 4) Accepted petition nominees will be added to the candidate list in the election email.

I thank you for supporting the IAFSS and the election of our Trustees and MAC members.

Best regards,

Charley Fleischmann Honorary Secretary, IAFSS

IAFSS Trustees and Membership Advisory Council: • Prof L Bisby, UK • Prof P Boulet, France • Prof W K Chow, Hong Kong, China • Prof R Dobashi, Japan • Dr R Fahy, USA • Prof C Fleischmann, New Zealand • Dr J Floyd, USA • Prof E. Galea, UK • Prof M Gollner, USA • Prof K Harada, Japan • Prof L Hu, China • Prof B Lattimer, USA • Prof N Liu, China • Prof C Maluk, UK • Prof K Matsuyama, Japan • Prof M McNamee, Sweden • Dr B Meacham, USA • Prof B Merci, Belgium • Prof Y Nakamura, Japan • Prof A Trouvé, USA • Prof P van Hees, Sweden • Dr Y Wang, USA • Prof E Weckman, Canada • Prof J Wen, UK