Congratulations Poster and Image Awardees from the 12th IAFSS Symposium!

A number of both established researchers and students were recognized for their fire science  posters and images at the 12th International Symposium on Fire Safety Science. The awardees are listed below, congratulations!

Judges Choice Outstanding Image

  • Longhua Hu, “Blooming Fire”
  • Laurens van Gelderen, Hamed Farmahini Farahani, Ali Rangwala and Grunde Jomaas, Boilover of a crude oil burning in an ice cavity

Judges Choice Outstanding Student Poster

  • Sriram Bharath Hariharan, Huahua Xiao, Evan Sluder, Michael Gollner and Elaine Oran, The Structure of the Blue Whirl: A Soot-free Vortex Phenomenon
  • Park Seong-Geun, Shin Kyung-Jae, Lee Yu-Hyeon and Min Gi-Yo, Mechanical Properties of Structural Steels at High Temperature

Judges Choice Outstanding Poster

  • Andy Rodriguez, Xinyan Huang, Shmuel Link, Sandra Olson, Paul Ferkul and Carlos Fernandez-Pello, Piloted Ignition of Cylindrical PMMA and Wood
  • Torben Grumstrup, Jason Forthofer and Mark Finney, Wildfire Flame and Plume Attachment on Slopes
  • Masayuki Mizuno, Kosuke Fujii, Hiroyuki Kadokura, Fuqiu Wang, Tomonori Sano and Ai Sekizawa, Development of Mathematical Model of Evacuation Flow in a Staircase Based on a Survey Result of a Real Evacuation Drill in a High-Rise Office Building

Delegates Choice Outstanding Image

  • Sriram Bharath Hariharan, Michael Gollner and Elaine Oran, The Blue Whirl in Transition

Delegates Choice Outstanding Poster

  • Yuqi Hu, Nieves Fernandez Anez and Guillermo Rein, Review of Emissions of Regional Haze Episodes from Smouldering Peat Fire

Honorable Mentions

  • Carmen Gorska Putynska, Juan P. Hidalgo and Jose Torero, Self-extinguishment of Exposed Cross Laminated Timber Walls in Compartment Fires
  • Yoshinari Kobayashi, Yusuke Konno, Xinyan Huang, Shinji Nakaya, Mitsuhiro Tsue, Nozomu Hashimoto, Osamu Fujita and Carlos Fernandez-Pello, Dripping Behaviors of Melted Insulation in Wire Fire under Opposed Flow

Thank you to all the judges and organizers, who were led by Prof. Naian Liu, USTC.