The Communications and Outreach Subcommittee of the IAFSS is in charge of several initiatives, including the IAFSS website, newsletter, federated search, social medias (Twitter, YouTube Channels, LinkedIn etc.). A presentation listing several recent initiatives of the group is provided below.


  • Xinyan Huang, Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • Longhua Hu, University of Science and Technology of China (Vice Chair for Member Services)

Past Chairs

  • Michael Gollner, University of California, Berkeley
  • Guillermo Rein, Imperial College London
  • Rita Fahy, National Fire Protection Association


  • Amanda Robbins, Sereca Fire Consulting, Canada
  • Ed Galea, University of Greenwich, UK
  • Terry Fay, Fire & Risk Alliance, USA
  • Peter Sunderland, University of Maryland, USA
  • Rory Hadden, University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Scott Rockwell, Eastern Kentucky University, USA
  • Jian Gao, QIBEBT, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • Nils Johansson, Lund University, Sweden

Website Team

  • Terry Fay, Fire & Risk Alliance, USA
  • Shaorun Lin, Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • Nils Johansson, Lund University, Sweden